Douglass Hunt Lectures

About the Douglass Hunt Lectures

The Carolina Seminars program organizes the Douglass Hunt lectures. On the occasion of the first Douglass Hunt Lecture, which was held on October 23, 1995, Chancellor Paul Hardin recognized the contributions of Douglass Hunt to the University and to higher education, “Douglass Hunt always was and still remains enormously useful to the University of North Carolina. Indeed, he can’t help being useful because his close association with the University and the trust he earns daily by his life and work and friendships combine to inspire all of us who are influenced by him to redouble our own efforts to be useful to our beloved University.”

Douglass Hunt Biography

Douglass Hunt (1924-2011) was a 1946 Phi Beta Kappa graduate of UNC-CH and in 1951 he earned his law degree from Yale University. The following ten years he practiced law with the firm of Gardner, Morrison & Rogers in Washington, D.C. From 1961 to 1965 he served as Special Assistant to the Under Secretary, United States Department of the Treasury, and in 1965 was named the Special Assistant to the Secretary of the Treasury. He began his tenure at Columbia University in 1969, first serving as Officer of Columbia University, later as Vice President for Finance and as Deputy to the President for Governmental Affairs.

In 1973, Douglass Hunt moved back to Carolina when Chancellor Ferebee Taylor appointed him to the position of Vice Chancellor for Administration where he served until 1980. From 1980 until his partial retirement in 1996, Douglass served as Special Assistant to the Chancellor.

Douglass Hunt received the C. Knox Massey Award for Distinguished Service and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Distinguished Alumnus Award, in addition to other honors.

2019 Douglass Hunt Lecture

Thursday, April 4, 2019

2019 Douglass Hunt Speaker David Daley

Slaying the Gerrymander: Inside the battle to take back democracy

Speaker David Daley discussed how Republicans reinvented and weaponized the gerrymander during the 2010 election, then took advantage of big data and sophisticated mapping technology to draw themselves nearly unbeatable district lines for congress and state legislatures nationwide. Using state by state examples, including North Carolina, Michigan, Wisconsin and Florida Daley demonstrated how they pulled this off, how Democrats fell asleep, and what the consequences have been for public policy and political polarization during this era. He also pivoted to the response to this rigging of our elections: A citizen movement centered around fair maps and voting rights that scored historic victories during the 2018 election, including in red states like Utah, Missouri and Ohio. On the verge of the 2020 election and the next decade of redistricting, with gerrymandering back at the Supreme Court — including one case from North Carolina — where does the fight for fair maps stand?

David Daley is the author of the national best-seller “Ratf**ked: Why Your Vote Doesn’t Count” and the forthcoming “Unrigged: How Americans Fought Back, Slayed The Gerrymander, and Reinvented Democracy” (both W.W. Norton). His journalism on democracy and voting rights has appeared in the New Yorker, the Atlantic, Slate, the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times and many other leading publications. He is a senior fellow at FairVote, an Institute for the Liberal Arts fellow at Boston College, and the former editor in chief of Salon. He earned his B.A. in political science at Boston College and his M.A. in journalism from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Co-sponsored by:
English and Comparative Literature
Institute for the Arts & Humanities
Public Policy
School of Media and Journalism

Legislative Districts in North Carolina: A Conversation
with David Daley, Pricey Harrison, and David Lewis

*VIDEO*   On April 3rd, Carolina Seminars-Douglass Hunt Lecture and the UNC School of Media and Journalism hosted a related panel discussion with David Daley and NC General Assembly Representatives Pricey Harrison (District 57) and David Lewis (District 53). The topic of this panel discussion centered gerrymandering and its affects on North Carolina legislative districts.

Past Lecturers

2018: Clifford Johnson – professor of physics & astronomy at the University of Southern California. Talk: Black Holes, Space, and Time
Co-sponsors: COSMS Institute, Morehead Planetarium & Science Center


2016: Danielle Allen – Professor; ethicist; political theorist; Harvard; Director, Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics Talk: Difference without Domination – Reconciling Free Speech and Social Equality on College Campuses
: Department of African, African American, and Diaspora Studies; Department of Political Science; Department of Sociology; Institute for the Arts and Humanities; The Institute of African American Research (IAAR); Parr Center For Ethics


2015 April: Panel – Namibian Democracy: 25 Years After Independence –
Moderator: Dr. Andrew Perrin, Director of Carolina Seminars
Gwen Lister, Founding Editor, The Namibian; Chair-Person of the Namibia Media Trust
Cassandra Butts, UNC ’87; Senior Advisor, Millenium Challenge Corporation; US Ambassador-Designate to the Bahamas
Helena Gray, Political Counsellor for the Republic of Namibia Embassy1995: Thomas Wolfe – author and social commentator


2010 February-May: ICE Counterpoint: Encounters in Antarctica and the Artic – music performance and art exhibit, Photography: Brooks de Wetter-Smith; Paintings: Nerys Levy; Polar Exploration: Captivating Tales of Polar Explorers – family oriented music performance and photography

2010 October: Elie Wiesel “Against Indifference” – Nobel Laureate, Boston University

2009: Greg Mortenson – author and philanthropist (in collaboration with the Student Government Distinguished Speaker Series and the Global Education Distinguished Speaker Series)

2005: Stephen Murray – Professor of Art and Archaeology at Columbia University

2000: Russian classical pianists (in collaboration with the Music Department and Newman Series)

2000: Thomas Berry – geologian and author

1997: Susan Berresford – President of the Ford Foundation